A Strong Foundation

First Community Credit Union is the largest credit union in North Dakota, with 26 branches throughout North Dakota & western Minnesota. FCCU first laid its foundation in Jamestown, with just 40 members and now we've grown to serve more than 46,000 members.

Just like you’re a member of a community and even a family, you’re a member of a credit union and we know just how special that is.

National recognition includes the top credit union in North Dakota by Forbes, the top 50 business lending credit union and fourth largest ag lending credit union by the NCUA. Regionally, FCCU was selected as the top 50 Best Places to Work by Prairie Business magazine.

The Credit Union Difference


Board of Directors

Credit Union members have the opportunity to vote for our Board of Directors, impacting the future of FCCU. Our Board meets at least monthly, helping to guide and oversee the operations of our Credit Union. They set policies and strategic direction as well as ensure the Credit Union remains financially sound.

Bonnie Nelson

Bonnie Nelson

  • Elected to the Board of Directors in 2012.
  • Former FCCU employee for 17 years.
  • Bachelors degree from Valley City State University.
  • Member of the American Legion Auxiliary, Mrs. Choralaire, and the Decorative Painters Society.
  • Currently serves on the Board of Directors for the ND Pottery Collectors Society and Service Dogs for America located in Jud, ND.
Chris Aarhus

Chris Aarhus

  • Appointed to the Board of Directors in 2023.
  • Raised on a family farm and graduated from Sherwood High School.
  • B.S. in Writing from Dickinson State.
  • Editor for Farmers Union. Worked as editor and writer for daily newspapers for 13 years prior.
  • Serves on the Chamber of Commerce energy and ag committee.
  • Volunteer experience includes Great Plains Food Bank, 4-H and donating blood.
Colin Wegenast

Colin Wegenast

  • Elected to the Board of Directors in 2011.
  • Member of National Federation of Independent Business, various wildlife clubs, the Arts Center, and the Jamestown Chamber of Commerce.
  • Volunteers at the Jamestown All Vets Club.
  • Graduated from Jamestown High School and received an accounting and management information science degree from Jamestown College.
  • Currently the President of Lifestyle Appliance where he has worked for more than 30 years.
Douglas Kalianoff

Douglas Kalianoff

  • Elected to the Board of Directors in 2022.
  • Farmer and rancher for more than 48 years.
  • Business owner for more than 25 years, selling and leasing farm equipment.
  • Been on numerous boards previously, including: BEK Communications, Kidder County ASCS County Committee, Golden Manor Nursing Home, Kidder County Farm Bureau, Steele Dawson School Board, Trinity Lutheran Church Council,Steele Economic Development Association and more.
Mark Watne

Mark Watne

  • Elected to the Board of Directors in 2013.
  • President of North Dakota Farmers Union since 2013.
  • Received a bachelor of science degree from Valley City State University in University Studies and an associate's degree from North Dakota State University in Agriculture Mechanization.
  • Community experience includes the Quentin Burdick Center for Cooperatives board chairman, board chairman at Farmers Union Oil Company of Velva, ND, as well as the state treasurer and board member of North Dakota Farmer's Union.
  • Volunteer experience includes his church, Kids Against Hunger and the Red Cross.
Owen Olson

Owen Olson

  • Elected to the Board of Directors in 2004.
  • Graduate of Jamestown High School.
  • Commercial instrument aircraft rated.
  • Operated Aerial Spraying business 1992-2006.
  • Farmer 1983 to present.
Sharman Zachrison

Sharman Zachrison

  • Elected to the Board of Directors in 2012.
  • Former FCCU employee for 16 years and former school teacher.
  • Graduated from Valley City State University with a major in business education and economics.
  • Volunteer and community experience includes board member of the Jud Development Corporation, Meals on Wheels, regular blood donor, executive community for Jud Centennial, Jud city auditor, creator of Jud community calendar, and an active member of Jud UM Church.